The International day of peace!

i know not what peace could be
ever in future
my man in the olives, bereted
with medals adorning
his brave heaving chest
lies still inside the coffin
wrapped with honours
in eternal peace

the day he went away
kissing my daughter and waving at me
to guard the troubled frontiers
he promised to be back home soon
alive, if not, riddled with bullets
only in his chest and dead
but never would show his back and run
in fear of the enemy ever

the bombs hurled at the barracks
on the peacefully resting men
have burst as the world celebrates peace
the shrapnel has torn many hopes to pieces
many dreams are shorn to pieces
it may be the international day of peace
but my peace lies shattered
as my man lies in pieces

Sampath Kumar

One thought on “The International day of peace!

  1. Pingback: The International day of peace! | S S Kumar

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.